LASEPA Announces Plan To Open Additional Zones

LASEPA Agege Zonal Office

The Lagos State Environmental Protection Agency, LASEPA, has announced plans to open additional three zonal offices in order to serve the residents better, and improve healthy environmental practices across the state. 

The announcement was made by the General Manager, Dr. Dolapo Fasawe during the last management meeting for the year with senior members of staff of the Agency at Alausa, Ikeja, held on Friday.

She reiterated that the move is in tandem with the vision of the agency to attain its target of increasing the zonal offices to 20 by the year 2023 in order to serve a larger number of people seeking LASEPA’s intervention across the state.

“To effectively serve and reach out to larger society, we increased our zonal offices from four (4) to twenty (20) in a spate of four years.. This noble move is to reduce bureaucratic hurdles and also improve response time.

Like the existing ones, the new zonal offices will uphold the mandate of the agency and provide succour to citizens negatively affected by all forms of pollution in different parts of Lagos.

The LASEPA boss explained that the need to bring environmental regulation closer to Lagosians is in response to the goal of COP27, which emphasises the urgent need to unite the world through the people in other to tackle climate change.

The agency’s mission, acccording to LASEPA’s Spokesperson, Bola Ajao while communicating on the heels of the meeting, says the safety measure is to further safeguard the environment, a move which is consistent with the social and economic needs of the State.

The additional three zonal offices are Mushin, Alimosho 3, and Kosofe.

The Mushin zonal office covers Idi-araba, Fadeyi, Palm-grove, Onipanu, Papa Ajao, and Apapa Oshodi Expressway,  while Alimosho 3 zonal office would be in charge of Ipaja, Ayobo, Ekoro, Command, Ijaiye, Kola, and Kosofe zonal office respectively  covers Gbagada, Oworoshoki, Ifako, Anthony village, and Ajao Estate.

The other existing 17 zonal offices are Apapa 1&2, Amuwo-Odofin 1&2, Surulere, Lagos Mainland, Lekki, Epe, Alimosho 1&2, lkorodu 1&2, Orile-lganmu, Badagry, lsolo, Ojo and Agege.

The General Manager however added that necessary equipment and manpower had been in the new places to facilitate the smooth running of the new zonal offices. 

Facebook Comments
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top